Internet Measurement Conference 2004
Sponsored by ACM SIGCOMM and in cooperation with USENIX
October 25-27, 2004
Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Gran Albergo Capotaormina Hotel

The Internet Measurement Conference will focus on Internet measurement and analysis, following on the success of the 2001 Internet Measurement Workshop, the 2002 Internet Measurement Workshop, and the 2003 Internet Measurement Conference. We welcome the submission of papers that contribute to our understanding of how to collect or analyze Internet measurements, or give insight into how the Internet behaves. Examples of relevant topics are:

Papers that do not in some fashion rely on measuring Internet properties are out of scope. There are two forms of submissions: (i) Full papers (up to 14 two-column pages) describing original research, with succinctness appropriate to the topics and themes they discuss. (ii) Extended abstracts (up to 6 two-column pages), conveying work-in progress and less mature results, that are expected to mature by the time of the workshop. Extended abstracts will be subject to a 6-page limit in the proceedings.

Submissions must be in electronic form, as Postscript, or PDF documents. The submission must conform to the page limits stated above, and the main text body must be written in a 10 point (or larger) serif font. All manuscripts must be in English. Submissions that do not comply with these requirements will be unread. A PDF version of the CFP can be found here.

Important dates:

All full papers and extended abstracts accepted for presentation at the workshop will be published by ACM in proceedings. A few accepted papers may be forwarded for fast-track submission to the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking. There may also be an opportunity to present some papers that are not accepted in a poster session.

The workshop will present a best student paper award for the top paper with a student as the primary author and contributor. A limited number of travel grants may be available to students who are unable to secure funding from their advisors.

General Chair: A. Lombardo, U. Catania

Program Chair: J. Kurose, U. Massachusetts

Program Committee: M. Allman (ICIR), P. Barford (U. Wisconsin), K. Claffy (CAIDA), M. Crovella (Boston U.), C. Diot (Intel), C. Dovrolis (Georgia Tech), N. Duffield (AT&T), A. Feldmann (TU Muenchen), G. Iannaccone (Intel), K. Jeffay (U. North Carolina), F. LoPresti (U. L'Aquila). S. Moon (KAIST), L. Qiu (Microsoft), M. Roughan (AT&T), A. Shaikh (IBM), S. Seshan (CMU), D. Wetherall (U. Washington).

IMC Steering Committee: C. Diot, Intel Research; B. Krishnamurthy, AT&T Research; V. Paxson, ICSI and LBNL

IMC 2004 gratefully acknowledges Cisco, IBM Research, Intel, and Microsoft Research for their generous support.