VISA 2009

An ACM SIGCOMM 2009 workshop

VISA 2009 — The First ACM SIGCOMM Workshop on Virtualized Infastructure Systems and Architectures

The VISA organizers are pleased to announced the First ACM SIGCOMM workshop on Virtualized Infrastructure Systems and Architectures, VISA 2009, co-located with ACM SIGCOMM 2009. The workshop will take place in Barcelona, Spain, in August 2009.

Call for Papers

PDF version; Text version.

Infrastructure virtualization has emerged as an important architecture and experimentation concept for the Internet infrastructure. The global computing and communication infrastructure will encompass (as it does today) a diverse and huge collection of networking, computing and storage resources. Together they need to form a coherent infrastructure and meet our society’s requirements for the 21st century. Infrastructure virtualization involves creation of a virtual slice of network, computing and storage resources in support of a service, an application, or an experiment from a physical substrate of diverse resources. This allows users of a virtualized infrastructure slice to access resources on a potentially global scale without incurring the cost of building such an infrastructure. Thus infrastructure virtualization provides a platform to allow innovation on a global scale and enables new business models.

As we envision and research Future Internet, there is increasing recognition that Infrastructure Virtualization will play an important role. However, there are many technical problems to solve: how to discover and advertise the resources; how to create and manage an infrastructure slice across diverse resources; how does virtualization extend to the wireless edge; how to implement virtualization across diverse resources and across layers of protocol stack; how to map an application or service to run on an infrastructure slice; what applications and capabilities are enabled by infrastructure virtualization; what kind of cross-layer protocols are possible; how does infrastructure virtualization impact the business models of network operators; and others.

Many research groups in the US, Europe, Japan, and elsewhere are pursuing different aspects of infrastructure virtualization; various international funding agencies are actively supporting research in this area; and many providers and vendors are very interested in exploring how this concept and associated technologies would help solve their business problems and create new growth opportunities. The goal of the workshop is to feature recent research and developments related to infrastructure virtualization to allow exchange of ideas and help build a research and user community to explore and help realize the potential of infrastructure virtualization.


We will solicit previously unpublished work on the following, non exhaustive, list of topics:

Submission Instructions

Authors should submit pdf papers exclusively, to the EasyChair conference management system: Please follow the format of the ACM Sigcomm 2009 submission guidelines, except VISA does not require anonymity of the authors, and the VISA page limit is eight pages. This workshop strongly encourages the submission of exploratory results that point to new directions and challenges in the design and management of a virtualized infrastructure.

At least one author of any accepted papers is required to register to the workshop and to present the paper in Barcelona. Submissions must be original work not under review at any other workshop, conference, or journal.

Important dates

Submissions dueFriday March 27, 2009
Notification of acceptanceFriday May 1, 2009
Camera ready version dueThursday May 28, 2009
Workshop dateMonday, August 17

Program Committee

VISA Steering committee Tomonori Aoyama Keio University and NICT
  Anja Feldmann TU Berlin and T Labs
  Nick McKeown Stanford University
  Guru Parulkar Stanford University
  Larry Peterson Princeton University
  Cedric Westphal Docomo Labs USA
PC Co-chairs Guru Parulkar Stanford University
  Cedric Westphal Docomo Labs USA
PC Members Hasan Alkhatib Microsoft
  Tomonori Aoyama Keio University and NICT
  Jack Brassil HP Labs
  Stephan Baucke Ericsson
  Simon Crosby Citrix Systems
  Christophe Diot Thomson Labs
  Lars Eggert Nokia Research Center
  Serge Fdida UPMC - Paris 6
  Nick Feamster Georgia Tech
  Anja Feldmann TU Berlin and T Labs
  Silvano Gai Cisco Systems
  Albert Greenberg Microsoft
  James Kempf Ericsson
  Dae Young Kim Chungnam National University
  Ulas Kozat Docomo Labs USA
  Laurent Mathy Lancaster University
  Nick McKeown Stanford University
  Sue Moon KAIST
  Akihiro Nakao University of Tokyo
  K.K. Ramakrishnan AT&T Labs
  Dipankar Raychaudhuri Rutgers University
  Jennifer Rexford Princeton University
  Robert Ricci University of Utah
  Martin Stiemerling NEC Labs Europe
  Amin Vahdat UCSD