ACM SIGCOMM 2014, Chicago, USA
Site Menu

ACM SIGCOMM Capacity Sharing Workshop (CSWS 2014)

In conjunction with ACM SIGCOMM 2014 conference, on August 18, Chicago, USA.

Technical Program

Call for Papers

Changing usage behavior, increasing demand for bandwidth as well as a continuous trend towards virtualizing networks and network functions raise questions on how to share limited capacity resources fairly and more efficiently while maintaining the best possible Quality of Experience (QoE) for users. While efficiency is most important when resources are spare, fairness need to be evaluated based on the different quality requirements of the various Internet services that we have today. For example, the Internet, especially the mobile Internet, was mostly engineered to provide a low loss service, low-latency services are not well supported today. In data centers, virtualization and high utilization promise economic benefits. However, effective, yet practical capacity sharing between tenants and applications is an important requirement. This has led to the development of enhancements in capacity sharing, especially congestion control mechanisms — some of these mechanisms are domain-specific, others lend themselves to adoption or generalization for inter-connected networks.

The objective of this workshop is to bring together researchers in the area of network and transport protocols in the Internet as well as data centers and their applications to advance the state of research on capacity sharing. We solicit contributions on the state-of-the-art, results of ongoing research, open issues, trends and new ideas. We want to encourage researchers to consider the problem space over all layers.


Topics of particular interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Network, transport, and application layer as well as cross-layer solutions, e.g. in the area of AQM, congestion control, or connection start-up
  • Application-layer models and requirements especially for interactive and real-time media services in fixed and mobile networks
  • Context-aware resource allocation especially in cellular/fixed access networks and fixed/mobile convergence
  • Multi-tenancy capacity sharing and isolation in virtual networks
  • Approaches to reduce latency with or without network support (e.g ECN) and latency measurements
  • QoE/QoS mapping, metrics and measurements
  • Traffic management, classification and characterization in the Internet and data centers
  • Fairness definitions and economic aspects on capacity sharing
  • Related standardization activities, projects and regulatory constraints


Submissions must be original, unpublished work, and not under consideration at another conference or journal. Submitted papers must be at most six (6) pages long, including all figures, tables, references, and appendices in two-column 10pt ACM format. Please use the following link for paper submission:

Important Dates

  • March 21, 2014

    Paper submission deadline

  • April 25, 2014

    Acceptance notification

  • May 30, 2014

    Camera-ready paper

  • August 18, 2014

    Workshop date

Download this call as a PDF


  • Workshop Co-Chairs
  • Mirja Kühlewind

    IKR University of Stuttgart, Germany

  • Dirk Kutscher

    NEC Europe Labs Heidelberg, Germany

  • Technical Program Committee
  • Marcelo Bagnulo Braun

    UC3M, Madrid, Spain

  • Bob Briscoe

    BT Research&Technology, UK

  • Anna Brunström

    Karlstad University, Sweden

  • Phil Eardley

    BT Research&Technology, UK

  • Lars Eggert

    NetApp, Germany

  • Gorry Fairhurst

    University of Aberdeen, UK

  • Matthew Ford

    Internet Society, UK

  • Michio Honda

    NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany

  • Janardhan Iyengar

    Google, USA

  • Suresh Krishnan

    Ericsson, Canada

  • Andreas Mäder

    NEC Laboratories Europe

  • Andrew McGregor

    Google, USA

  • Marco Mellia

    Politecnico di Torino, Italy

  • Michael Menth

    University of Tuebingen, Germany

  • Luca Muscariello

    FranceTelecom, France

  • Yoshifumi Nishida

    GE Global Research, USA

  • Piers O’Hanlon

    Oxford Internet Institue, UK

  • Jörg Ott

    Aalto University, Finnland

  • Colin Perkins

    University of Glasgow, UK

  • David Ros

    Simula Research Laboratory, Norway

  • Pasi Sarolahti

    Aalto University, Finland

  • Michael Scharf

    Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, Stuttgart, Germany

  • Meral Shirazipour

    Ericsson, Canada

  • Martin Stiemerling

    NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany

  • Brian Trammell

    ETH, Zurich

  • Kurt Tutschku

    Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH), Sweden

  • David Wagner

    University of Stuttgart, Germany

  • Matthias Waehlisch

    Freie Universitaet Berlin, Germany

  • Ying Zhang

    Ericsson, Canada

  • Thomas Zinner

    University of Würzburg, Germany

Previous CSWS workshops