Internet Measurement Conference (IMC) 2008
Sponsored by ACM SIGCOMM and in cooperation with USENIX
October 20-22, 2008
Vouliagmeni, Greece

The Eighth Internet Measurement Conference is a two and a half day event focusing on Internet measurement and analysis, building on the success of past IMCs. We invite submissions of papers that contribute to our understanding of how to collect or analyze Internet measurements, or give insight into Internet structure and behavior. Examples of relevant topics are:

Papers that do not in some fashion relate to measuring Internet properties are out of scope. Authors can contact the Program Chair at for clarification if they are unsure whether their paper is in scope.

Submission Guidelines
There are two forms of submissions:

  1. Full papers (up to 14 two-column pages) describing original research, with succinctness appropriate to the topics and themes they discuss.
  2. Short papers (up to 6 two-column pages), conveying, for example, work that is less mature but shows promise, or that articulate a high-level vision, describe challenging future directions, or critiquing current measurement wisdom. Short papers will be subject to a 6-page limit in the Proceedings.

Submissions must be in electronic form, as PDF documents. The submission must conform to the page limits stated above, and with text written in at least a 10-point font (Fonts used in Figures etc should be no smaller than 9 pt) satisfying the requirements specified below.

The sig-alternate-10pt.cls style file should satisfy these requirements.

All manuscripts must be in English and do not need to be anonymized. Submissions that do not comply with these requirements will not be read.

Follow this link to the submission web page

All full papers and short papers accepted for presentation will be published in the Conference Proceedings produced by ACM. A few accepted papers may be forwarded for fast-track submission to the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking.

Important dates

To encourage broader data sharing in the community, the conference will present a best paper award for the top paper that makes its data sets publically available by the time of camera ready submission. For example, wireless-network data sets may be published through CRAWDAD. Authors that would like their paper to be considered for this award should add a footnote on the first page of their submission (and indicate this by selecting the appropriate button on the paper registration/submission page).

A limited number of travel grants may be available to students who are unable to secure funding from their advisors.

Program Chairs
Konstantina Papagiannaki, Intel Research Pittsburgh
Zhi-Li Zhang, University of Minnesota

Program Committee
Mark Allman, ICSI, USA
Suman Banerjee, University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA
Ranveer Chandra, Microsoft Research, USA
Jaideep Chandrashekar, Intel Research, USA
Chen-Nee Chuah, UC Davis, USA
Christophe Diot, Thomson, France
Cristian Estan, University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA
Nick Feamster, Georgia Tech, USA
Anja Feldmann, Deutsche Telecom, Germany
Lixin Gao, UMASS, USA
Roch Guerin, UPENN, USA
Thomas Karagiannis, Microsoft Research, UK
Arvind Krishnamurthy, University of Washington, USA
Balachander Krishnamurthy, AT&T Labs -- Research, USA
Craig Labovitz, Arbor Networks, USA
Wenke Lee, Georgia Tech, USA
Simon Leinen, SWITCH, Switzerland
John C.S. Lui, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Z. Morley Mao, University of Michigan, USA
Athena Markopoulou, UC Irvine, USA
Srihari Nelakuditi, University of South Carolina, USA
Craig Partridge, GENI Project Office @ BBN, USA
George Polyzos, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
Niels Provos, Google, USA
Pablo Rodriguez, Telefonica, Spain
Stefan Saroiu, University of Toronto, Canada
Shubho Sen, AT&T Research, USA
Alex Snoeren, University of California, San Diego, USA
Joel Sommers, Colgate University, USA
Neil Spring, University of Maryland, USA
Ashwin Sridharan, Sprint ATL, USA
Patrick Thiran, EPFL, Switzerland
Darryl Veitch, University of Melbourne, Australia
Jia Wang, AT&T Research, USA
Walter Willinger, AT&T Research, USA
Yin Zhang, University of Texas at Austin, USA

IMC Steering Committee
Paul Barford, University of Wisconsin
Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina
Bruce Maggs, Carnegie Mellon University/Akamai Technologies
Nina Taft, Intel Research

Local Arrangements Chair
Christophe Diot, Thomson

For additional information