2011 Internet Measurement Conference

Internet Measurement Conference 2011
in cooperation with USENIX

November 2-4, 2011
Berlin, Germany

Home || Call for Papers || Committees || Local Information || Student Travel Grants || News and Community Feedback || Program || Registration

The eleventh Internet Measurement Conference is a three day event focusing on all aspects of measurement-based research pertaining to today's Internet. Building on the success of past IMCs, we invite submissions of papers that contribute to our understanding of all aspects related to the Internet through the collection, analysis, or visualization of all types of network-related measurements. Examples of relevant topics are:

Papers that do not in some fashion relate to measuring aspects of the Internet or Internet-like systems are out of scope. Moreover, papers describing original ideas and novel validation methods will be given preference over submissions that report on incremental improvements of the existing state-of-the-art. Authors can contact the Program Co-Chairs for clarification at imc11chairs@net.t-labs.tu-berlin.de if they are unsure whether their paper is in scope.

Ethical standards for measurement must be considered by all IMC authors. In particular, authors must be aware of and conform to acceptable use policies for individual domains that are probed or monitored, data privacy and anonymity for all personally identifiable information, and etiquette for using shared measurement data (see Allman and Paxson, IMC '07). If applicable, authors are also urged to notify parties of security flaws in their products or services in advance of publication. Adherence to ethical standards for measurement will be a criteria for all submissions and violations---including ambiguous situations not well described---will be grounds for rejection.

Submission Guidelines

There are two forms of submissions:

  1. Full papers (up to 14 two-column pages) describing original research, with succinctness appropriate to the topics and themes they discuss.
  2. Short papers (up to 6 two-column pages for text and figures + 1 page for references) conveying work that is less mature but shows promise, articulating a high-level vision, describing challenging future directions, critiquing current measurement wisdom or offering results that do not merit a full submission. Short papers will be subject to a 7-page limit in the Proceedings (with the last page for references only).

Note: Previous IMCs have utilized a "reject to short" notion whereby full paper submissions have been accepted as short papers. IMC 2011 will not be using this procedure. Any submission longer than allowed by the above short guidelines will be considered a full paper.

Note: Authors are encouraged to think carefully about whether to submit a full or short paper. In the past there have been many instances whereby a full submission has been found to be lacking enough technical contribution for a full paper, but for which the PC finds an interesting portion of the paper that would have been a very nice contribution as a short paper.

Note: IMC 2011 will experiment with a change to the traditional reviewing process that (i) does not affect the process up to and including the time the final decision about paper acceptance or rejection has been made, and (ii) only impacts authors of accepted papers. In particular, the camera-ready version of each accepted paper will be accompanied by a 1-page summary that consists of the significant portions of the (anonymized) reviews that the paper received during the reviewing process and a 1-paragraph summary by the authors detailing how they addressed the reviewers' comments. The author(s) of an accepted paper will have the option to opt out of this arrangement, but we strongly encourage authors to support IMC in its attempt to make the reviewing process more transparent. The conference proceedings as well as the conference website will include the camera-ready version of each accepted paper together with the corresponding 1-page summary review, or a note saying that the author(s) opted out of this arrangement

Submissions must be in electronic form, as PDF documents. The submission must conform to the page limits stated above, and with text written in at least a 10-point font (Fonts used in Figures etc should be no smaller than 9 pt) satisfying the requirements specified below.

The sig-alternate-10pt.cls style file should satisfy these requirements.

All manuscripts must be in English and do not need to be anonymized. Submissions that do not comply with these requirements will not be read.

All full papers and short papers accepted for presentation will be published in the Conference Proceedings produced by ACM. A few accepted papers may be forwarded for fast-track submission to the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking.

Paper submission: To submit a paper go to the submission site.

Important Dates

To encourage broader data sharing in the community, the conference will present a best paper award for the top paper that makes its data sets publically available by the time of camera ready submission. For example, wireless-network data sets may be published through CRAWDAD. Authors that would like their paper to be considered for this award should add a footnote on the first page of their submission (and indicate this by selecting the appropriate button on the paper registration/submission page).

A limited number of travel grants may be available to students who are unable to secure funding from their advisors.

Program Co-Chairs

Patrick Thiran, EPFL
Walter Willinger, AT&T Labs-Research

Program Committee

Katerina Argyraki (EPFL, Switzerland)
Martin Arlitt (HP Labs and University of Calgary, Canada)
Suman Banerjee (University of Wisconsin, USA)
Bobby Bhattacharjee (University of Maryland, USA)
Fabian Bustamante (Northwestern University, USA)
Augustin Chaintreau (Columbia University, USA)
Xenofontas Dimitropoulos (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Lixin Gao (University of Massachusetts, USA)
Alexandre Gerber (AT&T Labs-Research, USA)
Srikanth Kandula (Microsoft Research, USA)
Thomas Karagiannis (Mirosoft Research, UK)
Sachin Katti (Stanford University, USA)
Ramana Kompella (Purdue University, USA)
Christian Kreibich (ICSI, USA)
Nikolaos Laoutaris (Telefonica Research, Spain)
Olaf Maennel (Loughborough University, UK)
Ratul Mahajan (Microsoft Research, USA)
Z. Morley Mao (University of Michigan, USA)
Hung X. Nguyen (University of Adelaide, Australia)
Antonio Nucci (Narus, USA)
Konstantina (Dina) Papagiannaki (Intel Labs, USA)
Lili Qiu (University of Texas, USA)
Reza Rejaie (University of Oregon, USA)
Pablo Rodriguez (Telefonica Research, Spain)
Matthew Roughan (University of Adelaide, Australia)
Vyas Sekar (Intel Labs, USA)
Rob Sherwood (Deutsche Telekom Labs, USA)
Georgios Smaragdakis (TU Berlin and Deutsche Telekom Labs, Germany)
Joel Sommers (Colgate University, USA)
Neil Spring (University of Maryland, USA)
Renata Teixeira (CNRS and UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France)
Steve Uhlig (TU Berlin and Deutsche Telekom Labs, Germany)
David Wetherall (University of Washington, USA)
Lixia Zhang (UCLA, USA)

Platinum sponsors:
Gold sponsors:
Silver sponsors:
Other sponsors: