Network and System Support for Games

Technical Program

Call For Papers

The NetGames workshop brings together researchers and developers from academia and industry to present new research in understanding networked games and in enabling the next generation of them.  Submissions are sought in any area related to networked games.  In particular, topics of interest include (but are not limited to) game-related work in:
  • Network measurement and modeling
  • System benchmarking, performance evaluation, and provisioning
  • Latency issues and lag compensation techniques
  • Cheat detection and prevention
  • Service platforms, scalable system architectures, and middleware
  • Network protocol design
  • Mobile and resource-constrained gaming systems
  • Augmented physical gaming systems
  • User and usability studies
  • Quality of service and content adaptation
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Security, authentication and accounting


We solicit submisisons of full papers (12 pages) and short papers (6 page) (single-spaced, double column, 11pt font) submitted in PDF or in postscript format.  Accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings pending the participation of the authors in the workshop. Paper submissions will be done via the web.  Authors should use the two-column ACM format for the submissions. Detailed paper submission gudelines will be available soon.  In addition to papers, technical demonstrations showing original research are also solicited. One-page descriptions of demos will be reviewed independently of the technical paper review and acceptance process.

Important Dates:

   One-page demo submission:  April 16, 2004
   Short-paper submission: April 16, 2004
   Full-paper submission:  April 16, 2004
   Notification: May 21, 2004
   Camera ready manuscript: June 14, 2004

Workshop Organizers

Wu-chang Feng, OGI School of Engineering, Oregon Health and Science University

Program Committee

Grenville Armitage, Swinburne University of Technology
Gary Chang, Zona Inc.
Adrian Cheok, Nationial University of Singapore
Mark Claypool, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge
Constantinos Dovrolis, Georgia Institute of Technology
Wu-chang Feng, OGI@OHSU
Carsten Griwodz, University of Oslo
Tristan Henderson, University College London
T. V. Lakshman, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies
Martin Mauve, Heinrich Heine University
Keith Mitchell, Lancaster University (Demo chair)
Debanjan Saha, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Jason Spangler, Electronic Arts
Lars Wolf, TU Braunschweig

Steering Committee

Tristan Henderson, Dartmouth College
Sugih Jamin, University of Michigan
Lars Wolf, TU Braunschweig

Last Modified: February 11, 2004