NetEcon '08

An ACM SIGCOMM 2008 workshop

NetEcon '08 — The 2008 Workshop on the Economics of Networks, Systems, and Computation

The organizing committee is delighted to invite you to NetEcon '08, co-located with ACM SIGCOMM 2008 in Seattle, WA, USA.

Call for Papers

The emergence of the Internet as a global platform for computation and communication has sparked the development and deployment of many large-scale networked systems. Often, these systems involve multiple stakeholders with divergent or even competing interests. Unmitigated selfish behavior in these systems can lead to high inefficiency or even complete collapse. Research interest in the application of economic and game-theoretic principles to the design and analysis of networked systems has grown in recent years. The NetEcon Workshop promotes multi-disciplinary work and discussion about the role of incentives in communication and computation.


Topics of interest to NetEcon '08 include, but are not limited to:

Information about NetEcon'06 and NetEcon'07 can be found at and respectively.

Submission Instructions

Submission of both technical papers and position papers is encouraged. Submitted papers should contain original material: Papers that have already appeared in conference proceedings or journals or are currently under review are ineligible for consideration by NetEcon '08. If you have questions about the eligibility of a potential submission, please email the PC chairs at Papers will be selected based on both technical merit and potential to spark interesting discussion at the workshop. Accepted papers will be published by ACM SIGCOMM.

Paper submissions should be at most 6 pages in length (not counting the bibliography) with 10pt fonts or larger. Additional information (including detailed proofs or experimental data) may be included in a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program-committee members.

Proposals for panel discussions are also solicited. Panel proposals should be no longer than 2 pages in 10pt font or larger and should contain a brief topic description, a list of specific questions that the panel members will be expected to answer, the name and affiliation of the moderator, and a list of at least three potential panel members. (The final list of panelists need not be fixed before submission.)

Submit papers and panel proposals electronically at the submission site:
All submissions should be in PDF format only. If you are unable to produce a PDF submission or to upload your paper at the submission site, please email the PC chairs at

Important Dates

Submissions dueMarch 8, 2008 (2359 PST)
Notification of acceptanceApril 15, 2008
Camera ready version dueJune 6, 2008
Workshop dateAugust 22, 2008

Program Committee

PC Chairs Joan Feigenbaum Yale University
  Y. Richard Yang Yale University
PC Members Kevin Almeroth UC Santa Barbara
  Lorenzo Alvisi U. of Texas at Austin
  Jeff Chase Duke University
  Jon Crowcroft University of Cambridge
  Nick Feamster Georgia Tech
  Michal Feldman Hebrew University
  Daniel Grosu Wayne State University
  Jean-Pierre Hubaux EPFL
  John C.S. Lui Chinese University of Hong Kong
  Ratul Mahajan Microsoft Research, Redmond
  Jean-Phillipe Martin Microsoft Research, Cambridge
  Tim Roughgarden Stanford University
  Rahul Sami U. of Michigan at Ann Arbor
  R. Srikant U. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  Xiaowei Yang UC Irvine
  Sheng Zhong SUNY Buffalo
Steering Committee Chair David Parkes Harvard University
Steering Committee Nick Feamster Georgia Tech
  Emin Gun Sirer Cornell University
  John Chuang UC Berkeley
  Joan Feigenbaum Yale University
  Daniel Grosu Wayne State University
  Paul Spirakis University of Patras
  Milan Vojnović Microsoft Research, Cambridge